Cycling: First hour

Posted: April 30, 2011 in Cycling

So, finally I got the cycle from Babas. I was supposed to collect it yesterday but Babas had some classes which ran till 10 in the night. Since he had to leave the next morning, so he called me up at 5.50 AM in the morning. I didn’t mind as I was pretty eager to lay my hands on his bicycle. This evening I got the cycle repaired. The plan was now to go back home and start with the cycling adventure from tomorrow morning but just as I sat on it and forced the first paddle, I felt awesome. It’s been four years since I have been walking. I had kind of forgotten how it’s to be driving a vehicle. So scared of the traffic till now, I was today cruising in the crowd of cars and bikes. The bike runs decently fast with slight efforts. I was comfortably driving at around 30kmph without much efforts and changing any gear. I would learn more about the bike and this city as the time passes by. I was comfortably driving at twice the speed of other cycles and rikshaws and little slower than the otherwise running traffic. I could have kept on going for some more time but I was feeling thirsty and Mantri wanted me back in the flat for some reasons. But tomorrow is going to be my first big day of cycling. I haven’t planned out where will I head to but I will try to restrict myself to Indirapuram only. Indirapuram is pretty big. I intend to cover the area where Pearlson lives. It should be couple of kms away from Aditya Mall, so all in all good distance to cover on the first day.

Leave a comment